2nd Annual India Property Rights Conference 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
The Theatre, India Habitat Centre, New Delhi

Program Schedule and Speakers:

09: 30 AM: Registration
10.00 AM: Welcome by Mr Baladevan Rangaraju, Founder-Director, India Institute
10.10 AM: Introduction to the International Property Rights Index (IPRI)
Mr Lorenzo Montanari, Executive Director of Property Rights Alliance
Global Launch of the 2016 International Property Rights Index
10.30 AM: Highlights of the 2016 Ranking: “Where does India stand in the IPRI and the spill-over effect on other rankings? Dr Sary Levy- Carciente (author of the International Property Rights Index 2016), Member- National Academy of Economic Sciences and Professor, Central University of Venezuela
11:15 AM: Keynote Address: Mrs Meenakshi Lekhi, Member of Parliament in the
Lok Sabha from New Delhi constituency, National spokesperson of BJP, Supreme Court of India lawyer
12.00 PM: Panel 1: Rule of Law: How to create institutions that work for everyone?
Panelists & sub- themes:
  1. Dr Amit Kapoor, President & CEO, India Council on Competitiveness: Competition is the answer to corruption
  2. Ms Seetha, Author and Senior Journalist, Writer at Swarajya and Firstpost: How can we achieve minimum government?
  3. Dr Arghya Sengupta, Founder & Research Director, Vidhi Centre for Legal Policy: Reforms for judicial independence
1:00 PM: Lunch and Networking
1.45 PM: Panel 2: Property Rights: Is restoration of property rights the need of the hour?
Panelists & sub- themes:
  1. Mr Vikramjit Banerjee, Counsel, Supreme Court of India: Why should Property Rights be Fundamental Rights?
  2. Mr Anurag Batra, Chairman and Editor-in-chief, BW Businessworld: How can we curb “land use” abuse?
  3. Mr Barun Mitra, Founder-Director, Liberty Institute: Land Rights: A step towards property rights
  4. Mr Anupam Srivastava, Founder member and Partner, The Chamber of Law: Reforms for capitalising property
3.00 PM: Panel 3: Intellectual Property rights: Whose idea is it?
Panelists and sub- themes:
  1. Mr Bhaskar Bhattacharya, Partner, Corporate Law Group: Whose idea is it?
  2. Dr Geeta Gouri, Former Member, Competition Commission of India: Whose business is consumer interest?
  3. Ms Aarti Bharadwaj, Vice President, Publicis Media: IPR and Innovation
4:00 pm: Vote of Thanks by Mr Manoj Mathew, Focal Point, India Property Rights Alliance
4:15 pm: Tea